Animal Aid

URGENT MEP ACTION NEEDED - Cosmetics vote

Posted 1 June 2002

Guinea pigThe following briefing file was produced by the British Union for the Abolition of Vivisection (BUAV).

The second MEP reading of the 7th amendment to the Cosmetics Directive is due to take place on June 11th. MEPs will vote on proposals either to introduce a combined EU wide test ban and an EU ban on the sale of cosmetics tested on animals, or only to ban cosmetics tested on animals when OECD-accepted alternative tests are in place. The latter proposal comes from the Council of Ministers and would result in very little change for laboratory animals.

As before, we need your help to ensure that MEPs understand the strength of public opinion on this issue and vote for the combined test and sale ban. Please write an email (see below) to urge MEPs to support once again a fixed deadline of five years (as they did in their first reading vote) for the introduction of a ban on the sale of cosmetics tested on animals. (Due to procedural rules, MEPs cannot vote for a shorter time-scale than in their original first reading vote).

Please urgently email Conservative and Liberal Democrat MEPs from your own regional constituency. Labour, SNP, Plaid Cymru and Green MEPs are already supporting the combined ban, so they do not need further lobbying at this stage. In your emails to Conservative & Liberal MEP, it is very important to tell them that you live in their region, and name the region.

Please keep your emails brief and polite. The first two bullet points are the most important to include, but you can choose other points to make if you wish:

  • Tell them to support a fixed deadline of five years (reflecting the first reading position) for the introduction of a ban on the sale of cosmetics tested on animals. Please say that you do not believe industry should be given more time to develop alternative tests, as past experience shows that unless the tightest deadlines are set, there will be insufficient action.
  • EU citizens have repeatedly called for an end to animal testing of cosmetics, because they believe it is unacceptable for animals to suffer in order to bring more beauty products on to the market.
  • A sale ban will not prevent innovation because over 8,000 cosmetic ingredients that have already been fully tested are currently in use, and other safe substances (such as natural ingredients of the kind used by Body Shop) are available for use by the cosmetics industry.
  • An EU wide test ban without a sale ban will simply export the problem of animal testing, and will not affect the number of animals used worldwide to test cosmetics.
  • Ending the testing of cosmetics and cosmetic ingredients would not compromise the safety of the public because under the Cosmetics Directive, companies have an absolute obligation to ensure the safety of their products. This would not change if animal testing were banned. Under no circumstances would companies be permitted to sell unsafe products.
  • The proposed sale ban would give industry the much needed incentive to develop alternative test methods as soon as possible. Basing legislative action on the availability of alternative tests is absolutely unacceptable because this is what has led us to the current situation - a ban that has already been continuously delayed due to industry inaction.
  • A ban on the sale of cosmetics tested on animals was first adopted by Parliament and the Council in 1993, for implementation in 1998. The ban has been delayed twice since then, and further delay is unacceptable.
  • Medicinal products would be unaffected by an end to animal tests for cosmetics. If a product has a medicinal purpose, it will be marketed and tested as such. It is inaccurate to claim that an end to animal testing for cosmetics would limit the availability of medical products.
  • The Commission's claim that a sale ban would contravene WTO rules is refuted in the legal Opinion by international trade expert Philippe Sands, obtained by the BUAV (copies available on request).
  • Using OECD acceptance of alternative tests (as suggested in the common position) is unacceptable because the OECD process is slow and single countries can block the progress of new tests. OECD acceptance is inappropriate for EU legislation.
  • Ask your MEP to let you know how they voted after June 11th.

Here is a list of all UK MEPs and their emails.

North West:

Conservative - Rt. Hon Sir Robert Atkins MEP - Email: ratsmep@aol.com
Liberal Democrat - Chris Davies MEP - Email: chrisdaviesmep@cix.co.uk
Conservative - Den Dover MEP - Email: ddover@europarl.eu.int
Conservative - Jacqueline Foster MEP - Email: jfoster@europarl.eu.int
Conservative - Lord Inglewood MEP - Email: linglewood@europarl.eu.int
Conservative - David Sumberg MEP - Email: dsumberg@europarl.eu.int

North East:

Conservative - Martin Callanan MEP - Email: mcallanan@europarl.eu.int

Yorkshire & The Humber:

Conservative - Robert Goodwill MEP - Email: r.goodwill@farmline.com
Conservative - Timothy Kirkhope MEP - Email: timothy@leedsne.demon.co.uk
Conservative - Edward McMillan-Scott - Email: emcmillan@europarl.eu.int
Liberal Democrat - Diana Wallis MEP - Email: diana@dianawallismep.org.uk

West Midlands:

Conservative - Philip Bradbourne OBE MEP - No Email
Conservative - Philip Bushill-Matthews MEP - Email: bushillm@aol.com
Conservative - John Corrie MEP - Email: jacorrie@compuserve.com
Conservative - Malcolm Harbour MEP - Email: Manor_Cottage@compuserve.com
Liberal Democrat - Liz Lynne MEP - Email: lizlynne@cix.co.uk

East Midlands:

Liberal Democrat - Nicholas Clegg MEP - Email: ld_eastmidland@cix.co.uk
Conservative - Christopher Heaton-Harris MEP - Email: chhmep@netscapeonline.co.uk
Conservative - Roger Helmer MEP - No Email
Liberal Democrat - Bill Newton Dunn - Email: wnewton@europarl.eu.int

London:

Conservative - Richard Balfe MEP - Brussels email: rbalfe@europarl.eu.int
Conservative - Lord Bethell MEP - Email: nikbeth@aol.com
Conservative - John Bowis OBE MEP - Email: jbowis@europarl.eu.int
Liberal Democrat - Baroness Sarah Ludford MEP - Email: sludford@europarl.eu.int
Conservative - Dr. Charles Tannock MEP - Email: ctannock@europarl.eu.int
Conservative - Theresa Villiers MEP - Email: tvilliers@conservatives.com

Eastern:

Conservative - Christopher Beazley MEP - No Email
Liberal Democrat - Andrew Duff MEP - Email: mep@andrewduffmep.org
Conservative - Bashir Khanbhai MEP - Email: bkhanbhai@europarl.eu.int
Conservative - Robert Sturdy MEP - Email: rsturdy@europarl.eu.int
Conservative - Geoffrey Van Orden MEP - Email: gvanorden@europarl.eu.int

South West:

Conservative - Giles Chichister MEP - Email: gileschichestermep@eclipse.co.uk
Conservative - Dr. Caroline Jackson MEP - Email: cj@carolinejackson.demon.co.uk
Conservative - Neil Parish MEP - No Email
Conservative - The Earl of Stockton MEP - Email: alexanderstockton@tory.org
Liberal Democrat - Graham Watson MEP - Email: euro_office@cix.co.uk

South East:

Conservative - Nirj Deva MEP - Email: ndeva@europarl.eu.int
Conservative - James Elles MEP - Email: jelles@europarl.eu.int
Conservative - Daniel Hannan MEP - Email: office@hannan.co.uk
Liberal Democrat - Chris Huhne MEP - Email: chuhneoffice@cix.co.uk
Liberal Democrat - Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne MEP - Email: enicholson@europarl.eu.int
Conservative - Roy Perry MEP - Email: royperry@europe.com
Conservative - James Provan MEP - Email: jamesprovan@europarl.eu.int

Wales:

Conservative - Jonathan Evans MEP - Email: jevans@europarl.eu.int

Scotland:

Liberal Democrat - Elspeth Attwooll MEP - Email: eattwooll@europarl.eu.int

Action

  • Please email your MEPs today - this is a vitally important vote.
  • Find out what else you can do to help animals - get active!

Send this page to a friend


Read about how we treat your data: privacy policy.

© Copyright Animal Aid 2014